D35 30th Anniversary Celebration

ASTM logoEvent: D35 30th Anniversary Celebration
Dates: Thursday, January 30, 2014 – Thursday, January 30, 2014
Location: Hyatt Regency Houston; Houston, TX US

Committee D35 on Geosynthetics will be celebrating their 30th anniversary at the January 2014 ASTM Committee Week, January 29th thru 31st in Houston, Texas. The Committee will be acknowledging those members who have contributed greatly to the development of high quality geosynthetic standards.

A 30th Anniversary Dinner is being held at Vincent’s Restaurant on Thursday, January 30th, from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM. (The restaurant is located approximately 1.7 miles west of the D35 meeting host hotel.) The cost of this event is $60.00 per person. Sponsorship is also being solicited to defray the cost of this event.

Pre-registration requested to attend this meeting.

Register Now Download Sponsorship Form

NAGS Members receive ASTM Awards

At the recent ASTM Meeting in Indianapolis several NAGS Members received awards.

  • ASTM International President’s Award (Awarded to a person who has less than 7 years activity in ASTM and has made major contributions to the committee(s) they are members of.) Selected by the President of the Society.
    Awarded to:
    Dr. John McCartney for 2012. for work Committee D18 on Soil and Rock Committee
    D18 Committee on Soil and Rock Awards


  • Hogentogler Award (Best paper award)
    Fawzy M. Ezzein and Richard J. Bathurst – For “A Transparent Sand for Geotechnical Laboratory Modeling,” ASTM Geotechnical Testing Journal, vol.34, No. 6 (Nov 2011), pp 590-601.


  • A. Ivan Johnson Outstanding Achievement Award
    L. David.Suits– For Service as Editor of the Geotechnical Testing Journal



NAGS Member Dr. John S. McCartney Receives 2013 President’s Leadership Award from ASTM

Prof. John S. McCartney – 2013 ASTM Award Winner


John S. McCartney, Ph.D., an assistant professor at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Colo., has been announced as the recipient of the 2013 President’s Leadership Award from ASTM International. The President’s Leadership Award recognizes individuals early in their ASTM career who have significantly advanced the Society’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example and vision, and is presented to two ASTM members annually. This year’s other recipient is William C. Griese, standards development and green initiative manager at the Tile Council of North America (TCNA) in Anderson, S.C. McCartney has served on Committees D18 on Soil and Rock and D35 on Geosynthetics.

As well we are proud to have John as a long standing Member of NAGS and as the Co-Chair of the Student Activities for GeoAmericas 2016 – the 3rd Pan-American Regional Conference on Geosynthetics.  Congratulations and thanks to John from NAGS!